Dining / Los Angeles

Banh Mi My Tho {Alhambra, CA}

I know this is a favorite banh mi spot for many, but my vote still goes to Golden Deli in San Gabriel – see my review here.

Same as Golden Deli, I ordered Banh Mi Thit Nuong (Charbroiled Pork Vietnamese Sandwich), so that I could do an apples-to-apples comparison.

This one was just under $3, so a bit cheaper than Golden Deli.  As you can see, the fillings from Banh Mi My Tho are looking pretty good.  There’s a lot of meat, cucumber, and the usual pickled carrots/radish/onion.  The veggies were seasoned nicely (sweet but not too sweet), but I thought their portion was a little skimpy.  Overall the fillings were totally competitive and I would say beat Lee’s Sandwiches easily.  Lee’s is pretty good, but the filling tends to be pretty meager and the bread hard.  However, Banh Mi My Tho had two MINUSES for me:

1. Bread:  Hard and scratchy, just like Lee’s.  Golden Deli wins on bread by a landslide.
2. Cilantro: The cilantro looks fine in the above pic for whatever reason, but in real life it looked so gross-  pale, dry, with brown edges.  I pulled it all out and the sandwich wasn’t the same without it.  This complaint is probably just a

Conclusion:  Good taste and value, but Golden Deli is still my favorite banh mi place – generous fillings and amazing bread for the reasonable price of $3.75 (see my review here).

Banh Mi My Tho
Yelp / Menu
304 W Valley Blvd
Alhambra, CA 91803

One thought on “Banh Mi My Tho {Alhambra, CA}

  1. Pingback: Golden Deli {San Gabriel} « nikkibi

Leave a Reply

